Simple Lemon Sorbet

Today with my grandma, I made lemon sorbet. It was delicious and refreshing. The tang of the lemon zest and also the sweetness of the lemon juice. I not joking, compared to the zest of a lemon, lemon juice is the perfect kind of sweet. This recipe has no corn syrup or any type of sorbet/fruit  liqueur.  So is it really healthy.

Meyer_Lemon

I am in LOVE with the band The Beatles, they are the best band in the world. Ask me any question about The Beatles and I will answer. I am a Beatles nerd. Crazy right?

Right away you are probably thinking, what does this have to do with anything about lemons or sorbet? Am I right?  Well this actually does have to do with lemons, and The Beatles.  It all went like this…

My sister and I had a simple talk about The Beatles.  I had a sudden thought that popped into my mind.

“What if The Beatles were fruits?” I asked

“That would be crazy” said my sister

“What would John Lennon’s name be?”

But instead of saying Lennon, I said lemon! My sister and I stated cracking up and agreed that if John Lennon was a fruit (yes lemons are fruit) he would be a lemon. John Lemon. Not because he was sour and mean, but just because it sounded cool and funny.

As I was looking for a recipe for lemon sorbet today, I remembered John Lemon. I searched it up and found this

tumblr_m729edjxTO1r4id7co1_400

I guess maybe many other people have these great ideas that pop into their brains too. I started cracking up so hard. This is great! I also found this, it is the most creative idea ever.

Gjw8ytJObkcffm30F5ou4V9ho1_1280

I mean, Apple McCartney, John Lemon, George Perrison, Mango Starr? And they are ‘Beatle  Juice’. Is it the most amazing thing I have ever seen! I am screaming right now. This was a real achievement. Anyway, back to the sorbet.

There is real lemon zest and a tropical zang to this delicious sorbet.  And if you are craving ice cream, but don’t want all that fat of the dairy in it. This is a simple and quick recipe that will fulfill your cravings.  Here’s the recipe. Hope you enjoy.

~ The Oven Master

 

Simple Lemon Sorbet 

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups freshly squeezed lemon juice, strained.
  • About 1 tablespoon fresh lemon zest, no white zest only outer yellow rind.

First step is to take a saucepan and put to over the stove and turn it on to medium-hight heat. Pour in the sugar and water and let sugar dissolve (this is a simple syrup recipe). Once boiling, turn heat down until the rest of the sugar had dissolved. Once done with that, transfer the simple syrup into a bowl (glass if you can) to let it cool, if you want it to cool sooner, stick it in the fridge until cooled.

After the simple syrup is cooled, pour in the zest and juice of the lemons. mix around a bit then put it into the ice cream maker*. Keep it in there for about 25-30 minutes. After that, transfer it back to the glass bowl and put it in the freezer until the next day, or stick it in a ice bath for 30 minutes before eating.

 

* If you don’t have a ice cream maker, you can use a blender and freeze the pitcher of it before using and put it on the slowest blend as you can. If it does not go slow, cut the time of blending it to 10-15 minutes of blending.

3 thoughts on “Simple Lemon Sorbet

  1. Sasha says:

    Well, I like the fact that there’s FINALLY a website about deserts where I can search up The Beatles and get a delicious result.

Leave a Reply

